My Hankie Book

Published February 24, 2013 by theodoodles

My Latest Projects 013My Latest Projects 014My Latest Projects 016My Latest Projects 011

This is a project very dear to my heart.  It is taken from a tutorial by Fiona at jennings 644 You Tube.  In her tutorial she made her book with doillies, but I don’t have any doillies so I made mine with my late mother-in-law’s handkerchiefs.  I have actually made three of them, two for my daughters to put in their memory boxes as a rememberance of their grandmother.  I have made mine a little different as I have made this one as a family album and made the handkerchiefs into little envelopes for photos and memorabilia.  The book itself is made of Mounting board which you can get at an Art Store for as little as £3 or £4 for a very large sheet (I am not sure of the actual size, but it wouldn’t fit my daughter’s Leon boot, it had to go in the back seat).

There are twelve hankies in the book and each is held close with a snap and covered with a button.  The front and back inside covers have Spellbinders Parisian Accents as pockets to hold little journal notes and the edges of the covers are trimmed with pink gem bling.  The actual front and back cover measures 71/2″ x 71/2″ and the spine is 11/2″ x 71/2″  The cover is a piece of my mother-in-law’s curtains and the lace is from one of her net curtains.  The spine is covered with braided ribbon which I learnt from Christina at Card-making- magic.   The large fabric flower I made myself from a tutorial by Fiona at jennings644 You Tube.  The roses are from Wild Orchid Crafts and the berries and pearl spray and green ribbon were made by my daughter for her flower arranging class (which she no longer goes to).  The laces trimming the book and the rose trim with pearls, the stick pin and the closure strap are all from Fiona at jennings 644.Etsy store.  The letters and bling are from my stash.  The charm is made from an old bracelet and a christmas decoration.  Hope you like this and thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

