Learning to crochet

Published March 7, 2013 by theodoodles

My Craft Projects 001My Craft Projects 002

This is a project I did when I was learning to crochet.  I went to Ruth Eatherly @ Bob Wilson crochet how tos.  She takes you through how to make a flower step by step including all the names of the stitches, so that it is very easy for you to do.   This is a project which I picked up on You Tube, but I’m afraid I can’t remember the name.  It is called a Spring Wreath, and it is made of two paper plates with the centre cut out. You tape the edges together and stuff the inside hollow with papers.  Y ou then take a ball of wool (I used 4 ply) and you wind it round the circle.  This took me about 1/2 hour I think. When you reach the beginning of the circle you tie your ends together in a knot and feed it in behind your wool.  The trim round the outside is one that I got from Fiona @jennings 644 Etsy store.  The flowers are all that Ruth taught me on her channel.

In the second wreath I made the cabbage roses that she taught me and added pearls to the centre  The scrolls are a Joy diecut and the skeleton leaves I had in my stash.  The bow in the first one is made from the trim, and the bow in the second one is made from wool that I bought to make those fancy accessory scarfs (I think it is called  Shalaman or something like that ).  The hangers are made from  heavy string.  Hope you like these and thank you for stopping by

Leave a Reply

